Connect with us


Drama In Parliament As Haruna Iddrisu Joins NPP Side Of The House



The former Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu has rejected a seat offered to him by the new leadership of the Minority caucus.

This comes after the Tamale South MP was offered the seat which is currently occupied by the Asutifi South MP, Collins Dauda following his removal as leader of the NDC MPs.

Haruna who was making an appearance on the floor of the House after his removal decided to ‘cross-carpet’ and contribute to a motion on the African Union Convention on Cross-border cooperation (Niamey Convention) from the Majority side of the House, specifically from the seat of the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu.

While winding up his contribution on Thursday, February 9, 2023, the former Minority Leader said Collins Dauda is his senior in age and also in terms of his stay in parliament, therefore as a well-trained man, he will not accept that seat.

He however added that he is willing to accept any other seat acceptable to him aside from that of Collins Dauda.

“Mr Speaker, forgive me that I have to assume your chair, there was [sic] whether I should take over from Collins Dauda or yours and I have told them that honourable Collins Dauda is senior by age and a senior even to this house. So, I will not fit into his chair as somebody who is well-trained from home. So, any other chair Mr speaker acceptable to me, I am still the elected member of parliament for Tamale south,” he said.

Following the reshuffle, some Members of Parliament also saw their seating arrangements being changed.

Per the seating arrangement in parliament, the leaders are usually seated in the first row in the chamber while other senior members take immediate seats on the front bench.

The National Executives of the NDC  in a minority leadership shake-up replaced Haruna Iddrisu with Dr Cassiel Ato Forson as Minority Leader. Also, Ellembele MP, Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah replaces Dr James Klutse Avedzi as Deputy Minority Leader while Adaklu MP, Kwame Governs Agbodza has been elevated to Minority Chief Whip status replacing Asawase MP, Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak.


Copyright © 2020-GhanaFeed.Com-Ghana News, Breaking News, Original Reporting, News Analysis and Fearless Journalism.
GhanaFeed.Com is an independent news media providing original and unbiased online news reporting and news analysis. Our mission is to provide excellent fearless journalist. Through our team of trained journalists, we report on what you care about, break big stories that hold major institutions and political structures accountable for their actions, and expose injustices that change people's lives.