Connect with us


Surprises, Landslides And Endorsements As NPP Primaries In Orphan Constituencies Conclude



Eugene Arhin

In a decisive victory, the Director of Communications at the Presidency, Arhin, emerged as the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) Parliamentary Candidate for the Awutu Senya West constituency, securing an impressive 862 votes against his main contender Opei Okai’s 119 votes in the party’s orphan primaries.

Simultaneously, Pius Enam Hadzide, the Chief Executive Officer of the National Youth Authority (NYA), clinched the NPP Parliamentary Candidacy for the Asuogyaman Constituency in the Eastern Region, with 423 votes, leaving his closest rival, Paul Ansah, behind with 131 votes.

Director General of the National Lottery Authority (NLA), Sammi Awuku, faced no opposition and was unanimously declared as the NPP parliamentary candidate for the Akuapem North constituency. Having stood uncontested, Awuku secured the endorsement of delegates in the area during the primaries.

Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye, the Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), emerged triumphant as the NPP parliamentary candidate for the Ledzokuku Constituency. Dr. Boye, a former Member of Parliament for Ledzokuku, showcased his widespread support by securing an impressive 902 votes, leaving his closest competitor, Collins Nii Ashitey Ollenu, behind with 354 votes. Clifford Martey secured 199 votes, while presidential staffer Ibrahim Adjei claimed the fourth spot with 180 votes out of the total 1,635 valid votes cast. Dr. Okoe Boye’s decisive win positions him as a formidable candidate as the political landscape intensifies leading up to the 2024 elections.

In a closely contested battle in Okaikwei North, Member of Parliament for Akuapem North, Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei emerged victorious, securing 341 votes in a field of six aspirants. The competition included Kenneth Kwabena Agyei Kuranchie with 27 votes, Prince Owusu Mensah with six votes, and the formidable Akoto Alberta Afia Asomaniwa, who garnered 228 votes. Nyarko Stephen Adipa secured 108 votes, while former MP Fuseini Issah obtained 114 votes. The electoral process encountered a moment of confusion when unidentified delegates, allegedly non-residents, attempted to cast votes, prompting a heated altercation. Swift police intervention diffused the situation, ensuring the overall smooth conduct of the primary, setting the stage for Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei’s candidacy in the Okaikwei North constituency.

However, not all stories were of triumph. The Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts, and Culture, Mark Okraku Mantey, faced disappointment as he lost his bid to become the NPP parliamentary candidate in the Ayensuano constituency, Eastern Region.

With these developments, the stage is set for intriguing political battles in the upcoming 2024 Parliamentary elections, as candidates prepare to face off against their opponents from other political parties.

Source: GhanaFeed.Com

Copyright © 2020-GhanaFeed.Com-Ghana News, Breaking News, Original Reporting, News Analysis and Fearless Journalism.
GhanaFeed.Com is an independent news media providing original and unbiased online news reporting and news analysis. Our mission is to provide excellent fearless journalist. Through our team of trained journalists, we report on what you care about, break big stories that hold major institutions and political structures accountable for their actions, and expose injustices that change people's lives.